17/05/2013

  • Star Trek Into Darkness A Review

    As I said in a Pulse, JJ Abrahams knocked this movie out the park.

    Here’s why.

    SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You’ve been warned…

    As the movie begins, the crew are up to it’s neck trying to save a planet that has no interstellar space drive without letting the people know they’re there. They do so but they DO let the people know that they’re there by having The Enterprise rise out of the ocean to save Spock.

    Mean while back on Earth, a bombing occurs in London in a secret underground complex. Kirk looses his command to Pike after repeatedly breaking rules. Star Fleet Command gather to find a way to find the guy who was seen at the scene. Said villain starts strafing and killing most the high ranking officers along with Pike. Kirk convinces Star Fleet to re-instate his command and let him go after The Bad Guy to the home world of The Klingons. His orders are to take the bad guy, who’s name is Harrison, out. Read kill him. Kirk wants him alive to stand trial for the deaths of so many. Kirk takes on some torpedoes that Scotty can’t examine and he resigns. Kirk and crew heads to the Klingon home world and find Harrison. The Enterprise is disabled. A fight ensues and Harrison saves them. The Admiral who gave Kirk his orders comes in a huge-ass star ship and fires on the The Enterprise after Kirk finds out that Harrison ain’t who he says he is and doesn’t hand him over.
    As The Enterprise falls to Earth, Kirk races to save the ship. Spock goes after Harrison after his ship takes out a decent part of Star Fleet Headquarters.

    And…

    What, and tell you how it ends??? Go see the movie.

    Thoughts…

    DAIMN… The pacing of the story was dead on. Each of the characters has an important role to play. And many nods to the previous films and Star Trek Cannon. Lenonard Nimoy has an important cameo in the film. And an actor who was in two or three episodes of Star Trek Enterprise, Peter Weller, has a good role in this movie. The action scenes were great and the story was great. Some places were a bit predictable but it moved the story along. All in all a damned fine movie. And where the next movie goes, I’ll be waiting. And this gives me hope for the impending Star Wars movies, providing of course George Lucas keeps his hands off the story. There’s a HUGE reveal in the middle. And Benedict Cumberbatch  is an AWESOME villain.

    Verdict: As long as JJ Abrhams has his fingers on the pulse of this franchise, I don’t see this ending anytime soon. Will it do as huge numbers as say Iron Man III or the new Fast and Furious movie??? It’s somewhere in the middle. If the later movie didn’t open a week after Star Trek, it could have passed the $100 Million mark easily. Trying to predict a box office number is way beyond my ability.

    Check it out.

Comments (8)

  • No! No spoilers! Your first line is enough to know I have to see this movie. Thank you!

  • I only read the first couple of sentences, stopped when I got to spoilers. Really long forward to seeing it.

  • I recall watching the TV series with my mother each week! Hubby and I love Star Trek movies (so we shall see it even if we wait for the DVD)!

  • @GoneRetired - Yeah, but some of the space scenes are better on the big screen. Yeah, am counting the days for the DVD/Blue Ray edition…

  • I went and saw it two days after this entry. It was great. I love the new alternate realty, it gives them a lot more freedom with the scripts. They can now go back to Star Trek the action adventure (western) in space. They had been trapped in the utopian bs boring world, that the next gen etc, Star Trek story lines had grown into. “Save the whales” in space really sucked

  • Ha! I enjoyed reading this! I plan to see the movie…just not sure when I will be able to.
    HUGS!!!
    PS…thank you so much for rec’ing my post…I’m so grateful for everyone who is praying for my friends in OK!

  • @trunthepaige - Deep Space Nine was my favorite of Franchise. A lot of tension. They screwed the pooch with Enterprise. Meh. Amazon has a preorder for the new movie.

  • I saw this movie, first showing at an exclusive early preview 830pm Wednesday slot. I too enjoyed it. Wasn’t sure going in, but it surpassed my expectations. Of course not everyone in my group agrees. Some are hard-core old school with no room for leniency.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *