21/06/2013

  • Hey out there, It’s FRIDAY!!!

    And another work week bites dust. And with it comes the chores I get to do on the weekend but before all that, I get to goof off one day on Friday, which is why I put Friday in caps.

    A few things.

    You might have heard the James Gandolfini died this week but did you know that Slim Whittman died??? Yes, if you were a child of the 1970′s you had seen his commercial of his greatest hits. My boss said he was a member of his fan club. I think he was busting my chops but with him, you never know.

    The last time I went to a drive-in movie was way back in 1985 and saw a triple feature of Mad Max And Thunder Dome, The Road Warrior and Mad Max in that order. And this was before having some power drink to keep one awake. Had to stay awake the old fashioned way: Large amounts of Dr. Pepper and Mountain Dew.

    The first day of summer and here comes the humidity. God, I love central air.

    The Mulberry Bush/Tree has about shed its bounty on the driveway. Now, it wasn’t soooo flipping tall I would harvest it but standing on a creaky ladder is not something I want to do.

    For those of you out there who are into Anime, a live action version of Gatchaman otherwise now to us Americans as Battle Of The Planets hits the theaters in Japan. I saw a trailer for it and it looks fantastic. Kinda wished there was a either a subtitled version of the trailer I saw but as I said, it looks fantastic.

    Adding to pile of books that has been steadily growing is World War Z. Just in time for the movie to hit the theaters. I’ve heard the movie doesn’t resemble the book and you had to know that going in. But I’ve seen the author, who is the son of Mel Brooks, and I’ve been wanting to read the book. And Man Of Steel did boffo box office numbers. But will it be taken down this weekend by World War Z??? And Morton Downey Jr. has signed on for two more Avenger movies. And they’re still shooting the film Captain America Winter Soldier in the Cleveland area. The last movie I’m having reservations on it because I’ve read the comic book they’re basing this movie on and I know I’m not going to like it. Yeah yeah, basing how the out come of a movie sight unseen. The shooting of the movie has shut down parts of the downtown area/freeway system. I may just see it to see the areas where they filmed made it onto the big screen.

    Showtime is free this weekend and there is nothing on I want to tape/watch. I have enough stuff to watch and am falling behind. Adding insult to injury, the fan boy anyways, a remake of Ironside had made it to the fall schedule and I am still waiting for a remake of Space: 1999. There is talk about it but nothing on video yet. A series that’s on ABC this Summer called Motive and it’s worth checking out. It’s shown in Canada and it’s renewed there for a second season. A few actors I know are in it Lauren Holly (from NCIS etc) and Louis Ferreria (Stargate Universe). Copper starts it’s new season on BBC America this Sunday. I’m behind on Longmire and The Glades. I may end up down loading the shows to the memory stick via the Play Station Network.

    Next week, at work I start my holiday work week with a physical inventory and a Saturday work day. Normally, I don’t mind the over-time but all the over-time will be on one paycheck and the other paycheck will only have an eight hour holiday pay on it. So, any illusions of having a large paycheck get tempered with a short fall the paycheck. (Too many times I’ve used that word, paycheck, in one paragraph. Have to stop that…)

    An Animal Control officer shot and killed some feral cats in my hometown. They way said person did it is causing an up roar. I guess it made it to the big networks for all of five seconds. But, if I hear right, the guy needs to be fired. I’m sorry, but you don’t say in front of other people or kids that you’re going to send the kittens/sat to “Kitty Heaven”. And I’m sure there was a better way to go about it.

    Also in my home town is a city-wide garage/yard sale. We also have a Corn Festival every year in August. Well, if your High School at one time was beside a corn field, you kinda expect something like this…

    Wow, look at the time. A busy day tomorrow. And a 90 minute walk in the heat and humidity.

    Stay cool and safe!

    Ciao!!!

Comments (1)

  • There is a better way. Maybe it’s state by state, but I thought it was regulated to procedure: First the pound, inspection for epidemic disease, wait a week for someone to adopt, then euthanasia by needle. Sad. The person needs to be evaluated. He’s a little off. The gun should be for emergencies like on a rabid bear not a little, scared kitten. Summer is happening like clock work. All events are falling into place in perfect timing. Was Spring beautiful for you? Maybe the Mayan calendar was only about perfect alignment and nothing else. I am envious. I wish my High School had been next to a corn field, instead, it was by the railroad tracks where, truly, there was the “right” side and “wrong” side. It supposedly was on the right side. No trains came through. It was just a great place to skip school. You sound happy. Enjoy the cool AC.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *