23/06/2013

  • Fast food…

    Why oh why do I set myself up for this???

    I’ve really cut back on my fast food habit. One day a week. Wendys. With Dad before we go and bowl three games. I’ve managed to get and keep a 130 average for three games. We do this on Thursdays. This past week I bowled a 175. I haven’t done that in years. The other two games: 102 and 98. I just need to make spares more often.

    But I digress.

    Anyhoo, when I go to Wendys I get a a version of a Chicken Sandwich, a no salt french fry and a diet soda. I used to go to fast food places at four days a week and maybe twice on the weekends. Too damned lazy to cook. Well anyways I went three times this week. I tried Arbys Chicken Sandwich with a curly fry and a diet soda. Well, today Dad and I went to Wally World and we needed something to eat and we stopped at Burger King. Big mistake on my part. Dad got he wanted and he liked it. I must admit, the Sweet Potato Fries are good. The Pulled Pork Sandwich, not so much. More sweet barbeque sauce and the pork was mush. Now, I know that going to a fast food joint like BK is NOT the place for sandwich like this. They have a version of McDonalds McRib sandwich and I was afraid to try it. After trying the pulled pork, I may never go back to BK. Now I like BK back in the day. Their Whopper was the best. But when you start to add microwave ovens and trying to speed things up, you end up screwing things up. Which is why if I want a fresh burger, I go to Wendys. There other fast food places that MAY make a good hamburger, just not near where I drive to work. So, now when I go the next three Thursdays, I’ll be going to Wendys, just going to order a salad until I set the fast food karma points back as they should be. Although I haven’t been to Taco Bell in ages. Maybe a few soft tacos and their caramel apple empanada… That last thing reminds me of the original apple pie McDonalds used to have before they switched to the baked version.

    Am hearing the strains of “Fast Food Junkie” in my head. Time for some sleep. Gotta cut the lawn tomorrow and squeeze in another 90 minute walk in the heat and humidity that is now Summer.

    Stay cool and Safe out there…

    Ciao

Comments (2)

  • Reading this made me hungry, even though I rarely eat fast food.

  • The best way to avoid going back is to have a bad experience. I will never go back to Burger King. Long story as you might know how capable I am to write one. Runny eggs, etc… You’re right. Used to have the best “flame-broiled” burgers. Recently, McDonalds is off my list. They were doing good there for a while, but I think they added MSG to their stuff. Not sure, but I wasted a whole day feeling sleepy after eating their new burger with lettuce and tomato. Nevertheless, your salad strategy sounds like a good one. I may go back for one one of these days. You look like you’re doing well keeping up with staying/getting in shape. And your worst bowling score would make me look good. But I know what you mean. Good post!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *