14/12/2012

  • No, not gonna post about the “shooting”, not gonna do it…

    Before I do the blog I was going to do and will do before the tragedy in Connecticut took over the media and shattered many lives, a few points:

    1. I had thought the idiots would keep their pie holes closed until Monday but Mayor Blumeberg had to mouth off about guns again. Ah, the joys of Twitter/Social Media…

    2. I won’t make any comments if and when the whole story comes out. Anything before that is a knee jerk reaction.

    3. I don’t own a gun but why blast those people who are responsible, caring parents, good people because of someone wanting an easy answer to what happened today.

    4. The people here whom I am lucky to call friends have posted here have written better about this than I could ever do. And I am in no mood to get into it with the Trolls out there. It is the holiday season. Maybe after the first of the New Year…

    Any Hoo…

    I am A HUGE FRACKING fan of the new version of Battlestar Galactica and got a chance to watch the web series called Blood And Chrome. It about the first mission of William Adama as a Viper Pilot and it was shot using Green Screen. After watching it, it renewed my faith that maybe, just maybe, SyFy maybe may make this into a series and not the garbage called Caprica.

    While on the subject of that network, did anyone watch their twenty year special? I had forgotten that they have been around that long. And the shows they showed. The Invisible Man, Good Vs Evil, and a forgotten show called “Farscape”. Whenever I get in that mood to rail against Fox Network, (Yeah, they have killed more decent shows that had promise than any network I know) they canceled Farscape. Of all the off beat show, that show was awesome. At least the producers of the show gave us The Peace Keeper Wars mini series to wrap things up. I wished Sy Fy  picked up Firefly. There are a few shows on the horizon next year that show promise. 

    Heart and Rush made it into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. I am not a Rush Nerd. Not that there is anything wrong with that but I loved their music after hearing Subdivisions. “Be Cool Or Be Cast Out” rang true then as it does now. “Ghost Of A Chance” is another good song about love of all things. Heart… Yeah, they should have been long time ago also. Best Duet “Surrender To Me” and best rocking song in the 90′s “Black On Black” from them. And a tasty take on “You’re The Voice”. Way better than the original version. Am still waiting for Stevie Ray Vaughn, Journey, The Doobie Brothers, The Little River Band, and Bruce Hornsby to be inducted.

    Still no snow yet and I am kinda concerned. Because there is this fear in the back of my mind that there will be this huge snowstorm that hits every time I let my guard down.

    The Madness that is The Holiday season has finally hit work. Nothing like twelve hour days to make life interesting. Or the add on to orders at the end of night. Yes, they are soooooooooooo much fun just as one is ready to head out the door and go home. Sigh two more weeks. And this is my last free weekend. So, the chores are there to do.

    Oh, the last of the Bean Soup is gone. Back to normal meals. Like Kraft Mac And Cheese. And Campbell’s Chunky Steak And Cheese. And Peanut Butter and Strawberry Sandwiches. Because the holiday parties start next week. Note to self: Pace yourself. Or start walking for an hour a day. Or starve yourself after the new year.

    Has anyone geeked over the new Star Trek trailer or am I alone here. The new Tom Cruise movie looks good. But I am leary because it’s based on a book series that I’m starting and like. And I am going to wait until The Hobbit movies are on DVD/Blue Ray. I saw a version of it way back in the early 1980′s late 1970′s. And does anyone remember the first stab at The Lord Of The Rings movie. I liked that movie and I may try and get it on DVD/Blue Ray. I really wish some over here would show the live action version Star Blazers/Space Battleship Yamatto. I’ve seen the trailer for it on Youtube and damn it I want to see it.

    Okay, the Sci-Fi Nerd is going back into his room and re-reading his Iron Man collection and pop in series one of Space: 1999. The pilot is on youtube in case anyone is interested…

    Well, time for some dinner and a sink full of dishes that need to be washed and to finish up washing my clothes.

    Hoping everyone is well and safe out there. And try and relax.

    CIAO!!!

     

Comments (1)

  • I am completely heartbroken.  It’s hard to wrap my mind around this. 

    Haven’t watched much lately.  I finally caught up on my episodes of Arrow.  Not sure if I like the turn it is taking, though. 

    I’ve stopped worrying about inclement weather.  It will come or it won’t.  I’ve spent most of my time trying to keep the yard clean.  It seems I am the only person to rake leaves for blocks around.  I have one tree in the front and I’ve already put out at least 20 huge bags (with more to come).  My two lazy neighbors to the north raked their leaves into a HUGE pile and left it between their houses.  Perfect for when the wind blows from the north.  All the leaves are blown conveniently across the street to my yard.  Frustrating.  I’m hoping they get lumps of coal in their stockings.  Oh well.  At least it helps with the holiday calories (and I’m not shoveling snow).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *