18/01/2013

  • Hey, what’s up out there…

    Yeah, haven’t blogged in a while. Not a whole lot going on in my life. Work slowed down a lot after the first of the year. It always does. And the subsequent hit the old paycheck. From eighty plus hours to maybe on a good pay period, seventy-two hours. After February, business always picks up. I would have posted last weekend but I was dealing with a bit of family drama that’s not really mentioning here. But I am now back to my normal routine of a four day work week. It was nice waking up at 1:00 pm instead of 10:00 am. I try and make up my work week sleep deficit on the weekends.

    A lot of crazy stuff in the news of late and asking your opinions on what has happened:

    First off: R.I.P. Conrad Bain from Different Strokes…

    Lance Armstrong admits he cheated. After going after the people who said otherwise to him, they must be getting a certain amount of satisfaction. While bicycling is a sport that has never been on my radar, I kinda rooted for him because he’s an American and a Cancer survivor. But Dude, Karma is a Bitch and when you lie about about cheating… Going on Oprah ain’t going to soften the hits on your rep anytime soon. But he got lucky when that fool from Notre Dame revealed that his girl friend who died was a fake. As that story grows, Manti Te’o has some esplaining to do. While he may have been a victim of some plot/scam/whatever, his story has more holes in it than a block of Swiss Cheese. And while President Obama signs more things to curb gun control, there’s that thing called a budget that needs to be fixed and oh yeah. My paycheck got smaller because of the expired tax breaks. Gotta love the people in D.C. Justified is back on the and it hasn’t lost a step. Fringe last episode is tonight and once again Fox cancels another great show. At least they get to have an ending. I can’t count the amount of disappointing series ending final episodes. The worst being Enterprise. Did we need Riker and Troi in that episode. A lot of possible great movies coming out this year. I’m still trying to wrap my head around another, another Die Hard movie. Well, if you have to have a franchise… That being said, I am looking forward to RED II later this year. I’ve already put in my days off for midnight showings for Star Trek Into Darkness, Iron Man III and the new Hunger Games movie.

    Another reason I wasn’t here last weekend was Direct TV had Showtime and other movie channels free and while there wasn’t that many movies I want to see, I did see the following: Green Lantern, Money Ball, Ides Of March, The American, RED and a few other movies I’ll watch later. I was surprised I LIKED Green Lantern. It wasn’t as bad a movie as the press/media made it to be. Money Ball and The American were my favorites this weekend. Different movies and stories but enjoyable just the same. RED was just pure popcorn fun. Then again, I think Mary-Louise Parker is a Babe. 

    When did Winter in the Midwest become so flipping wacky??? There is no snow on the ground but it’s been cold. It’s not Winter without snow. As I write this, Mother Nature and Old Man Winter are giving North Eastern Ohio a blast of Cold weather and maybe some snow. It’s a good thing I put off buying the snow blower. But I need to get out next weekend and start pricing electric lawn mowers. The old one may not work this Spring and to replace a battery for it is going to be difficult because the thing was bought back in 1997. 

    I’m going to cut it short for now. For some reason I wanted to post something and every time I toggle the spell check function, I end up losing my train of thought. And I just lost another paragraph. That’s it. I’m done. I’ll save it for another post.

    Stay Warm and Safe!!!

    CIAO…                                                                                                                                                                    

Comments (6)

  • Welcome back. Of the movies you watched on tv recently, Green Latern and Red are the only 2 I’ve seen, GL on DVD this past Thanksgiving, and Red when it first came out in the theater.  I enjoyed both.

    Sorry to hear there was a bit of family drama, but glad things are returning to normal for you, there and at work. As for weather, it’s not just the mid-west that is wacky. Here in NW FL we had 3 days in the mid 70s with humidity so some of us even turned on AC, and then it drops overnight yesterday to the low 40′s again so on go the heaters. wierd.

  • Armstrong is not the first so-called “athlete” to cheat.  What about Sosa, Maguire and the likes of them?  A lot more of that going on than anyone admits.  Not for the love of the game, but for notariety.  Armstrong is looking for yet another go-round on the wheel of fame.  He goes on Oprah (on her channel which does not have the national exposure of one of the major channels…why didn’t he call up Barbara Walters or Dianne Sawyer and confess to them?)…he gets more publicity.  Might not be positive, but I’ll bet there’s a book coming out of this.  That means more money.  Why would he want to come clean?  If he’s been cheating all this time, the only thing that would stir him would be money.  As far as Te’o…He is an idiot.  First he knew nothing of the hoax…then he went along with it…then there is a woman…now there’s not.  All I know is that when someone does that kind of stuff, it confirms how lame they are. 

    Not happy about getting less on my paycheck.  It’s all semantics…federal taxes did not increase, but FICA did.  Fat lot of good it did.  We endured all that crap about the “fiscal cliff” only to get less money anyway.  If they want it, they are going to get it from us one way or the other.

    Haven’t watched much in the way of movies lately.  I did watch the latest Bourne movie and Hurt Locker. 

    It has been freaking cold here this week.  I normally don’t mind the cold so much, but it’s the pipe-busting weather that is just so hard to take.  We need moisture, but I sure don’t want it if it’s going to be ice.  It is supposed to be up around 65 tomorrow.  The weather around here is always so wierd.

    Have a great weekend!

  • If The American was that George Clooney movie, I didn’t like it. I kept waiting for something significant to happen. I guess I like more excitement. BBC America had “Whitechapel” on for two days and I DVR’d them so I could watch them in order. It was one of those shows I mostly watched because i like English accents. I watched Fringe for the first few seasons, then got tired of it. The alternate universe crap was boring to me. I like stand alone episodes, and they stopped having those.

  • That happens to me, too. I’ll have this great blog brewing, and something like spell check will happen when — poof — thought gone. I want to see that Mary Louise Parker movie, too. She’s the same age as I am yet way hotter proving it can be done. Great actress!

  • I was just thinking about our weird weather this morning when I realized it was mid-January and once again we have no snow on the ground. Just like last winter.
    I really enjoyed Money Ball. I want to see Green Lantern but I keep forgetting about it, thanks for the reminder!

  • sorry i missed this. hi!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *